Bulletin July 2006
"It is not enough to offer a smorgasbord of courses. We must ensure that students are not just eating at one end of the table."
– A. Bartlett Giamatti
Volume 74 | Issue 4
July 2006

UCLA wins 2006 College Bowl Championship

Joseph D. Comeau

The College Bowl National Championship Tournament took place April 21–23 at the University of Hartford in West Hartford, Conn. Sixteen collegiate teams from across the United States participated. The teams qualified after winning their respective regional tournaments in February. The University of California–Los Angeles took home the championship after defeating the University of Illinois–Urbana-Champaign during the final play-off round.

College Bowl is an academic and pop culture competition program for college students. ACUI and College Bowl Company, Inc. have been educational partners since 1976 when the College Bowl campus program was born. ACUI provides a direct link to campuses across the United States and provides a significant volunteer pool that helps organize and administer the College Bowl program at every level—on campus, at regionals, and at the National Championship Tournament. Teams representing respective ACUI regions this year included:

Region 1: University of Massachusetts–Lowell
Region 2: St. Bonaventure University
Region 3: Seton Hall University
Region 4: Bucknell University
Region 5: Davidson College
Region 6: Valdosta State University
Region 7: The Ohio State University
Region 8: Northwestern University
Region 9: University of Illinois
Region 10: University of Minnesota–Twin Cities
Region 11: Washington University–St. Louis
Region 12: Baylor University
Region 13: University of Arizona
Region 14: Montana State University–Billings
Region 15: Univesity of California–Los Angeles
Wild Card Team: University of New Mexico

The tournament playoffs took place on April 23. Two-time defending champion University of Minnesota, the University of Illinois, UCLA, and Washington University–St. Louis earned spots in the double-elimination playoffs for the national championship title. Ultimately, the University of Illinois and UCLA faced off for the championship. With the local NBC and CBS affiliates and print media watching, Illinois came from behind in the first match to steal a victory from UCLA with a score of 295-225. In the second match, UCLA came through with a solid win, defeating Illinois 445-235. The stage was set for the final match of the championship, with UCLA winning by a much closer score of 440-355 to take the crown.

The Greater Hartford community and the University of Hartford coordinated the tournament with volunteer support from a Host Team consisting of university representatives and local businesses and community service organizations. The Host Team planned the tournament’s special events and raised more than $53,000.

Local tournament events kicked off the evening of April 22 with the 1st Company Governor’s Foot Guard, the oldest continuous military organization in the United States, presenting the colors. Speakers included Eliott Ponte, University of Hartford Student Government Association president, as master of ceremonies; University of Hartford President Walter Harrison; ACUI Region 1 Incoming Regional Director Bruce Hamilton; ACUI College Bowl Program Team Chair Sharon Silverstein; and College Bowl Company President Richard Reid. Letters of welcome were read from Connecticut Governor M. Jodi Rell, U.S. Senator Joseph Lieberman, and U.S. President George W. Bush. Also greeting tournament guests was K.C. Jones, legendary Boston Celtic and member of the Basketball Hall of Fame.

A highlight event of the tournament weekend was a police escort to the historic Old State House in downtown Hartford. Hartford’s Old State House is the oldest state house in the United States. It was the site of the signing of the first written constitution providing government representation in 1637, resulting in the state motto “The Constitution State.” It was also the site of the first Amistad Trial. In 1800, Gilbert Stuart was commissioned for $840 to create a painting to honor George Washington. This painting still hangs today in the Senate Chamber of the building. For more than 360 years the Old State House has been home to state and Hartford city government, and it is now operated by the Connecticut Historical Society.

At the awards banquet following the final matches, awards were given out to the top eight tournament players as National Championship Tournament All-Stars. They were Michael Sorice, University of Illinois, with a points per game average of 68.57; Charles Meigs, UCLA, 63.33; Ezra Lyon, University of Minnesota, 59.64; Matthew Luby, Ohio State, 48.67; Erin Fladmo, Montana State, 46.33; David Crockett, Seton Hall, 46.00; John Sloter, Baylor, 44.33; and Andrew Brantley, Washington University, 43.33.

The Pat Moonen Sportsperson for the Tournament was Jarrod Alday, Valdosta State University. The College Bowl Championship Cup was awarded to the UCLA team, consisting of Team Captain Charles Meigs, Clifford Galiher, Jay Turetzky V, and Dwight Wynne.

Sharon Silverstein was presented with a framed certificate of appreciation from College Bowl for her three years of dedicated service as the ACUI College Bowl chairperson. In her acceptance remarks, Silverstein said: “While the title seems impressive, it has been the work and effort of the College Bowl staff and ACUI friends that made my job easy and fun.” At the conclusion of the tournament, Silverstein handed over the duties to the incoming College Bowl Program Team Chair Gail Ferlazzo, Iowa State University, who will coordinate next year’s tournament at the University of Southern California.

For more information on tournament standings, individual statistics, and to view the tournament’s photo gallery, go to www.collegebowl.com and see the “2006 Nationals” menu.