Greer Dawson Wilson Scholarship

The purpose of this scholarship is to honor the legacy of Greer Dawson Wilson by providing professional development opportunities for professionals of color and women within ACUI to support their leadership development.

The Greer Dawson Wilson Scholarship is presented annually to a professional of color or woman to support their leadership development within both the college union and student activities profession as well as the Association. The scholarship may be used to support any ACUI program or activity that develops individual leadership potential.


Nominees must:

  • Be a professional of color and or a woman within ACUI;
  • Be from an institution with current institutional membership in the Association;
  • Not have been a recipient of the Greer Dawson Wilson Scholarship within the past two years. 


  • Preference will be given to those applicants who have three or more years of professional experience.
  • Additional consideration will be given to those applicants with past involvement in regional and annual conferences and programs sponsored by the Association.

Previous RecipientsLisa Dela Cruz

2016 recipient:
Lisa Dela Cruz, University of Texas–Austin, for her passion about social justice and desire to educate herself and her students through advising three cultural committees on her campus.   

2015 recipient: Melissia Schmidt, Eastman School of Music
2014 recipient: Tricia Rodgriguez, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
2013 recipient: Dirk Rodricks, University of Vermont
2012 recipient: Mike Coleman, New York University


Greer Dawson WilsonAbout Greer Dawson Wilson

Greer Dawson Wilson was a trailblazer for equality and access within ACUI, higher education, and the greater global community. Known for her smile and exuberant laugh, Greer served as the first black female president of the Association in 1989, annual conference chair for the 1987 Boston conference featuring Dr. Maya Angelou, and chair of the Committee on Minority Programs (COMP). She received the Butts-Whiting award, our association’s highest honor for her extraordinary contributions to ACUI and the profession.

Greer spent her life working to increase the understanding and appreciation of individuals from all races, genders, cultures, and backgrounds. This award seeks to honor her legacy by providing talented professionals of color and women the opportunity to enjoy professional development opportunities that will allow them to advance their careers as community builders within the student activities and college union profession.


Nomination information

Please place nominations online. Self-nominations are encourages. Nominations should include the following information: 

  • Name, title, institution, and full contact information of nominee
  • Name, title, institution, contact information, gender, race, and country of citizenship of nominee
  • Number of years in current position and number of years in the field of college unions and student activities
  • Current and/or previous involvement with ACUI or other associations (e.g. regional or international conferences, volunteer work for ACUI)
  • Has the nominee received the Affirmative Action Scholarship or the Greer Dawson Wilson Scholarship previously? If yes, when?
  • Previous attendance at professional development programs of ACUI or other associations (including dates attended)
  • Title of program and registration fee for which scholarship may be applied
  • How will this program benefit the nominee in their professional development?
  • Please include your signature, that of your supervisor, and the date indicating that you agree to the following statement:
    "The recipient may receive full or partial scholarship funding for the requested program. It is the recipient's obligation to provide travel and other costs not associated with the registration fee."

This year's nomination deadline has closed for this award, which will be presented at the 2017 annual conference. 

Selection and presentation

Nominations will receive written or electronic notification confirming their receipt. The ACUI awards committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review the applications to determine a recipient. One scholarship recipient will be chosen; one physical award will be given to the winner. The winner will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference.


Updated March 3, 2017