Outstanding Service Project of the Year Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize and honor outstanding programs and program leaders on individual campuses who have made significant contributions to the community and campuses in which they live. This award also spotlights the long history the Association has in the area of community and volunteer service and thereby renews the commitment we have to helping those around us. This increases the pride of the staff and students who work with the college union program on each campus and shows that college communities make a difference in a global sense.


Any individual, campus organization, or institution that is an ACUI member is eligible to apply for this award. Nominated program must meet the following minimum standards:

  • Have performed necessary service in the last 18 months
  • Have documentation about the project, who performed the service work, who aid was provided to and results of the project
  • The nominated project should come from an ACUI member institution
  • Be submitted by an applicant who agrees to allow a summary of the project and its accomplishments to be published


The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. Due to the wide variety of programs that can be considered, a program does not need to meet each and every criterion.

  • Does the program demonstrate the use of practices that exemplify outstanding creativity or introduce new approaches?
  • Does the project demonstrate effectiveness on the department on campus or the community where the ACUI member institution is located?
  • Was the program of such integrity that the students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the institution will take pride in and be inspired by this recognition?
  • Is there a pattern of similar services with lasting impact such that they are successfully building their community and campus?
  • Does the program lend itself to replication on other campuses?

Previous Recipients

2016 recipient:
Hunger & Homelessness Awareness Week at the University of Akron: highlighting the needs of impoverished communities in this weeklong program through supplemental nutrition assistance program challenges, service projects, and canned food drives that resulted in raised awareness on campus of issues.

2015 recipient: Weber Ogden Adaptive Program, Weber State University
2014 recipient: National Hunger & Homelessness Awareness Week, Oregon State University
2013 recipient: Tiger Pantry, University of Missouri–Columbia
2012 recipient:
Gorter Family Foundation and North Chicago Community Partners Program, Lake Forest College
2011 recipient:
Knights Helping Knights Pantry, University of Central Florida

Nomination information

Please place nominations online by filling out the Outstanding Service Project of the Year Award nomination form to include the following information:

  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of the primary contact responsible for the program and contact information with partnering organizations/agencies
  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of nominator (if different)
  • A two-page summary of the program, addressing:
    • Title and description of the program (including intended programmatic outcomes)
    • Program budget and identified funding sources
    • Evidence of how effective the program was at achieving its goals through program evaluations
    • Why it was undertaken
    • What stakeholders were involved and who should be credited with the project
    • Tangible benefits of the program
  • Supporting documentation of program. This could include photos, videos, marketing samples, etc. that directly support the program.

This year's nomination deadline has closed for this award, which will be presented at the 2017 annual conference. 


Selection and presentation

Applications will receive written or electronic notification confirming receipt of the application(s). The ACUI Awards Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review the applications in January to determine a winning program. One winner will be chosen; one physical award will be given to the winning program. The winner will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference.


Updated Jan. 7, 2017