Emeritus Award 

Established in 1994, the ACUI Emeritus Award recognizes those college union and student activities professionals who are retiring. On appropriate occasions, the ACUI Emeritus Award may be awarded to a professional who has rendered exceptional service to ACUI but has left the college union and student activities field in pursuit of another career.

Minimum Qualifications Include: 

  • Ten years of employment in the college union and student activities field; OR be a non-union/activities professional who has rendered exceptional service to ACUI, but has left the college union and student activities field in pursuit of other careers.
  • Be retiring or have retired within a year of nomination.

Do you know someone who is retiring?

While there is an annual process for recognizing retirees from the profession through Honorary Lifetime Membership and the Emeritus Award, we know retirements happen at various points throughout the year. Help us track information about who is retiring by filling out this basic form. 


Nomination information

Please place nominations online by filling out the Emeritus Award nomination form to include the following information:

  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of the nominee
  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of the nominator
  • Institutions, position titles, and years employed in a college union or student activities department at ACUI member institutions
  • Position and years of service to the Association at the regional or international levels
  • Anticipated retirement date (if applicable)
  • An optional letter of support from an individual at an ACUI member institution that explains how the nominee has worked to enhance the Association and college union ideal.

This year's nomination deadline has closed for this award, which will be presented at the 2017 annual conference. 


Previous Recipients

2016 recipients:
Gail Olyha, Northeastern University
Jim Herrman, Wichita State University
Guy Conway, University of South Florida

2015 recipients:
Lydia Anderson, University of Alaska–Fairbanks
William Clutter, Florida State University
Marguerite Elliott, University of Texas–Austin
Bart Hall, Brailsford & Dunlavey
Bruce Hamilton, University of Rhode Island
Jim Schuster, Western Washington University
Tony Trimarco, University of North Dakota 

2014 recipients:
Don Castle, Southern Illinois University–Carbondale
Richard Heller, Georgia State University
Bruce Jacobs, Indiana University–Bloomington
Karen Mehnert-Meland, Minnesota State University–Moorhead
Larry Mosher, Valparaiso University
David Robertson, Appalachian State University
Thom Simmons, Indiana University–Bloomington
Bob Yecke, University of Michigan–Ann Arbor

2013 recipients:
Dan Cornthwaite, San Diego State University
Charles Morrell, University of Connecticut
Gale Swanka, Bowling Green State University
Margaret Vos, St. Cloud State University

2012 recipients:
Leland Bennett, Tulane University
Jon Curtis, University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill
Alan Kirby, University of California–Santa Barbara
Helga Kray, California State University–San Bernadino
Andy Rhoades, Texas State University–San Marcos
Tom Trimble, University of Toledo  

2011 recipients:
Jack Connaughton, Kansas State University
John Drinkwater, Central Washington University
Candy Holt, University of Montana
Bruce Michaels, University of North Carolina–Greensboro
Dusty Miller, University of Oregon
Barbara Ross, University of Southern Mississippi
Gloria Schultz, University of Missouri–St. Louis
Audrey Schwimmer, University of Michigan
Karen Jones Thomas, Lamar University
Carol Tuttle, University of New Hampshire

2010 recipients:
Mary Blair, University of Illinois–Urbana-Champaign
Mary Covell, University of Colorado–Boulder
Paul Franklin, Oakland University
Brenda Goupee, Dartmouth College
Larry Huisman, Iowa State University
Mary Keller, San Francisco State University
Deborah Matthews, University of Illinois–Chicago
Terry McGlincy, Middlesex County College
Wyl Parker, University of Texas–Arlington
Ted Petropoulos, Western Michigan University
Willie Steil, Minnesota State University–Mankato
Mary Yates, University of Colorado–Colorado Springs
Randy Zarn, California State University–Dominguez Hills

Selection and Presentation

Nominations will receive written or electronic notification confirming their receipt. ACUI Emeritus Awards are conferred by the Board of Trustees. The recipients will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference.


Updated Jan. 9, 2017