Volume 80 | Issue 5
September 2012

Nominations Being Accepted for ACUI’s Awards and Scholarships

ACUI awards allow the Association to recognize those members who have gone above and beyond in the profession, whether it be creating a new student program, conducting research, or giving time to the Association as a volunteer. Beyond this, scholarships honor the spirit of those who dedicated their lives to the Association and profession while providing an opportunity for current professionals and students to take the next step in their development.

Below is a brief description of each award and scholarship. The awards submission deadline is Nov. 16. The Volunteer Development Team hopes members will consider nominating a colleague or student.

For more information and to nominate an individual, please visit Questions may be directed to

Volunteer/service-based awards

Earl Whitfield Regional Newsletter Award
Recognizes excellence in regional newsletters

Emeritus Award
Honors retiring professionals from the field of college unions and student activities

Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
Honors exceptional service to the Association

Richard D. Blackburn New Professional Award
Recognizes commitment to the profession of college unions and student activities and demonstrated commitment to ACUI

The President of the Year Award
Recognizes college presidents who advance the college union idea

Two-Year College Honorary Associate Degree
Honors an individual employed by a four-year college or university who has done the most to further the causes and concerns of two-year colleges within ACUI

Two-Year College Professional Service Award
Honors an individual who best exemplifies outstanding achievement in the field of student activities or college union management at the two-year level

Butts-Whiting Award
Recognizes contributions to the profession and to ACUI; the Association’s highest honor

Student awards

C. Richard Scott Memorial Scholarship
Recognizes the accomplishments of an outstanding student leader

Meg Sutton I-LEAD® Scholarship
Provides opportunities for those students who have conquered obstacles and challenges in their education and have taken a leadership role to participate in this life-changing program

Scholarships and research-based awards

Adell McMillan Memorial Scholarship
Assists women in their development as leaders in the college union and student activities profession

Affirmative Action Scholarship
Provides professional development opportunities for women and underrepresented staff

Chester A. Berry Scholar Award
Honors excellence in writing on topics related to the college union and student activities profession

Gretchen Laatsch Scholarship
Honors graduate students who submit professional quality articles of interest to the field of college unions and student activities

Revis A. Cox Memorial Award
Honors contributions, commitment, creativity, and support of multicultural education

Dissertation of the Year
Recognizes a doctoral dissertation from the past academic year that is relevant to the college union and student activities profession

Program-based awards

Collaborative Program of the Year
Recognizes a program or activity that is created and implemented by multiple organizations working in partnership

Excellence in Innovations for Sustainability Award
Recognizes innovation in the creation and application of sustainable outcomes on campus

Excellence in Student Training Programs Award
Honors innovative approaches, commitment, and intelligence toward student employee training programs

Outstanding Service Project of the Year Award
Honors outstanding programs on campus that make significant contributions to the community

Staff-Driven Program of the Year
Celebrates the achievements of staff charged with programming on their campus

Student-Driven Program of the Year
Celebrates the accomplishments of students charged with programming on their campus