Association News

Outstanding professionals honored at ACUI annual conference
March 1, 2011

CHICAGO — At the ACUI annual conference, the Community Builders Awards Ceremony recognizes colleagues who have done outstanding work on their campuses, within the profession, or for the Association. ACUI would like to congratulate all the winners of the 2011 Community Builders Awards.  


Collaborative Program of the Year
CONNECT: High-Risk Drinking and Prevention Program, The College at Brockport
This award recognizes programs that bring together two or more campus entities to achieve one goal.

Excellence in Innovations for Sustainability
SOLTRAIN, Pomona College
This award recognizes those who are helping to solve environmental challenges by using innovative and environmentally sustainable practices.

Excellence in Student Training Program
Rebel Way, University of Nevada–Las Vegas
This award recognizes individuals, organizations, or institutions that demonstrate innovative approaches, commitment, and intelligence toward training student employees.

Outstanding Service Project for the Year
Knights Helping Knights Pantry, University of Central Florida
This award extends the Association’s dedication to community and volunteer service.

Staff-Driven Program of the Year
First 30 Days Program, The Ohio State University
This award recognizes the impact of programming on student learning and celebrates achievements of staff charged with programming.

Student-Driven Program of the Year
Vagina Memoirs, Western Washington University
This award recognizes success by students charged with programming on campus.


Affirmative Action Scholarship
Tari Wimbley, Georgia State University

Emeritus Award
Jack Connaughton, Kansas State University
John Drinkwater, Central Washington University
Candy Holt, University of Montana
Bruce Michaels, University of North Carolina–Greensboro
Dusty Miller, University of Oregon
Barbara Ross, University of Southern Mississippi
Gloria Schultz, University of Missouri–St. Louis
Audrey Schwimmer, University of Michigan
Karen Jones Thomas, Lamar University
Carol Tuttle, University of New Hampshire

Gretchen Laatsh Scholarship
Christina Reddick, Florida International University

Honorary Membership
Neil Gerard, Pomona College
Kim Savage, University of Illinois–Chicago

Richard D. Blackburn New Professional Award
Kristen Salo, University of Colorado

Two-Year College Professional Service Award
Sharon Chickie Silverstein, Suffolk Community College–Ammerman


Earl Whitfield Regional Newsletter Award
Region 3, “Netline,” Editor Sharon Torres, Temple University

Steal this Idea Best of Show
Nancy Abram, University of Iowa, Cupcakes for the Cure

More information about award definitions, guidelines, and deadlines may be found at

A PDF copy of the original press release may be downloaded here.


Gillian Thiebe
Sales Coordinator

About ACUI

Founded in 1914, ACUI serves those working in college unions and student activities on campuses worldwide. Its members include administrators, professional staff, student employees, student organization leaders, graduate students, and companies. 



For general inquiries about ACUI, please call 812.245.2284 or complete the online form below.